In John 14, in The Message, Jesus said, “because a loveless world is a sightless world. If anyone loves me, he will carefully keep my word and my Father will love him–we’ll move right into the neighborhood! The message you are hearing isn’t mine. It’s the message of the Father who sent me.”

In chapter 15 he said, “I am the Vine, you are the branches. When you’re joined with me and I with you, the relation intimate and organic, the harvest is sure to be abundant. Separated, you can’t produce a thing. Anyone who separates from me is deadwood, gathered up and thrown on the bonfire. But if you make yourselves AT HOME (my emphasis) with me and my words are at home in you, you can be sure that whatever you ask will be listened to and acted upon. This is how my Father shows who he is–when you produce grapes, when you mature as my disciples.”

What does it mean to be AT HOME IN HIS LOVE? Security, confident, hopefulness, trust, intimacy, oneness, companionship, growth. Living in my neighborhood, in my home… I’m in community with Him and with others who are also in an intimate relationship with Him and with me.

How thoroughly do I love my father God? is it possible to love him as thoroughly as the Lord Jesus loved his Father? How did he demonstrate his love for his father? by carrying out the Father’s instruction, down to the last detail.

I desire a moment by moment, organic, intimate relationship with the Spirit.

